Antwerp, Churches and Tourism
Tourism Pastoral, Diocese of Antwerp (TOPA vzw)

Anointing of the sick

The sacrament administered to the sick to give them strength to bear their illness. The priest anoints the forehead and hands of the person receiving the sacrament. In cases of peril of death, this is part of the Last Sacraments.


This is the sacrament in which baptism is confirmed. Hereby the confirmand expresses that he wants to live in the spirit of Christian faith. This is confirmed by the minister by anointing the confirmand. Confirmation is administered by a bishop or by a priest acting on his behalf.


In Christianity, this is a sacred act in which God comes to man. Sacraments mark important moments in human life. In the Catholic Church, there are seven sacraments: baptism, confession, Eucharist, confirmation, anointing of the sick, marriage and ordination.


The liturgical celebration in which the Eucharist is central. It consists of two main parts: the Liturgy of the Word and the Liturgy of the Eucharist. The main parts of the Liturgy of the Word are the prayers for mercy, the Bible readings, and the homily. The Liturgy of the Eucharist begins with the offertory, […]

Liturgical colours

The colour of the chasuble, the dalmatic, and the stole, among others, varies according to the time of year. The main liturgical colours are: green: this is the standard colour purple: in times of penance and expectation, i.e. Advent and Lent white: on the high feasts such as Christmas and Easter red: on the feasts […]

Last Sacraments

These sacraments are administered to someone who is in danger of dying through old age or illness. In this order, they are last confession, anointing of the sick and last communion.


A portion of bread made of unleavened wheat flour that, according to Roman Catholic belief, becomes the body of Christ during the Eucharist.


Explanation of the Scripture readings during the Mass.

Blessed Sacrament

The consecrated host, in which the presence of Jesus Christ is acknowledged. A synonym is ‘the Venerable’. In larger churches a chapel is dedicated to it, usually on the south side of the church.

Liturgy of the Hours

The daily official public prayer in the Roman Catholic Church. On five [before the Second Vatican Council eight] moments spread over the day [and night], in abbeys, monasteries and chapter churches people come together to pray and chant these prayers.